“Sing”

Leave a comment

June 23, 2017 by phicks2012

I’m sometimes hesitant to order movies on DVD before seeing them, because I’m never sure whether or not I’ll ever want to watch them a second time, and that obviously translates to a waste of money.

I made that mistake with several Disney sequels that turned out to be TOTAL disappointments — more “Saturday Morning Cartoon Quality” than “Movie Quality” and clearly written, animated and scored by the second or third-string at Disney. As a result, even though I have a sizable Disney collection, I totally stopped buying their sequels until AFTER viewing them somewhere, and that usually (if not always) meant I never bought them at ALL.

However, when it comes to new animated films, I tend to be more daring. If the trailers look really good, and it’s from a studio known for good quality animation and entertaining characters and plots, I’ll still take a chance.

I’ll very probably order the new one in the “Despicable Me” series, just for example, and I still might take a chance on “Moana”, but so far I’m not seeing any others that really make me want to take that risk.

But I did order “Sing” sight unseen, and thoroughly enjoyed it!! They had some very talented people doing the voices. Some of the speaking voices (whose names I recognized) were: Matthew McConaughey, Reese Witherspoon, Seth MacFarlane, Scarlett Johansson,
Jennifer Saunders, Jennifer Hudson, Jay Pharoah, Leslie Jones, Rhea Perlman, and Laraine Newman. The movie also had some really terrific music and animation, but even beyond that the characters all had great back-stories that sucked me in and made me care about them — okay, about nearly all of them. 😉

There’s Meena, an elephant who has a wonderful voice and whose family is 110% behind her, but who has debilitating stage fright.

There’s Ash, a prickly teenage porcupine, who’s been singing as backup for her self-centered dismissive boyfriend, and staying in his pretentious shadow, though she’s actually WAY more talented than he is.

There’s Rosita, a married Pig with a lot of talent, but with 25 children and an over-worked chronically exhausted husband named Norman who takes her for granted.

There’s Johnny, a british teenage gorilla who wants to be a soul singer, but whose father is a criminal and wants him in his Gang.

There’s Buster, a koala and failed entrepreneur determined to make his theatre a success, whatever it takes.

There’s Gunter, an irrepressible German dancing pig. No back-story, but still delightful.

There’s Eddie, a sheep with a trust fund who lives in his parents’ pool house and is being “encouraged” to find himself.

There’s Miss Crawly, an ancient iguana secretary with one glass eye an no coordination, but with good intentions.

And then there’s Mike, an arrogant self-serving rat with a good voice and a talent for playing the saxophone, but with very little else to recommend him.

The characters also include bears who are probably Russian Mafia, a wealthy former singing star/diva ewe, and a number of other entertaining, auditioning beasties.

In any case, I loved this movie, laughed a lot, cried a little, and will probably re-watch it over and over. I highly recommend it, and suspect it’s going to be a classic!

Of course, I’m one of those weird people who actually love musicals — at least GOOD musicals. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 296 other followers

