“Sonnet No. 22”

Leave a comment

June 20, 2017 by phicks2012

Don’t ask me what was going on in my brain when I set pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) and composed the short verse below. I suspect it had something to do with my frustration over the reality gap between what EHarmony promises and what they actually deliver — and something to do with past (and not perfect, for any grammarians out there among you) romantic forays.

 

In any case, it was originally published in our local SCA newsletter “The Equinox”, and I hope that at least a few readers will enjoy it!

 

Sonnet No.22

Give me a man who manly is in truth,
Not one so well by his own self beguiled;
A Lord grown past the callowness of youth
With wit to chose a woman, not a child.
Give me a man of learning and of skill
Not one who deems adultery an art,
But one of steadfast spirit and the will
To persevere in matters of the heart.
Give me a man of strength and honor true
Not one whose promises will not endure;
A man who will not honesty eschew
And who will baseborn treachery abjure.
Give me a man of substance and of grace
And I shall linger long in such embrace.

 

[29 April, 2010]

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 296 other followers

