Shire! Shire! for June

Leave a comment

June 16, 2017 by phicks2012

Now that I’m caught up, I can once again begin posting these comics — which I’ve been doing since 2002 — once a month!

As anyone at all who has been following my BLOG knows by now, way back in 2002 when I needed to fill a half-page space in my monthly SCA Newsletter “The Equinox” I created a comic strip that was expected to achieve quick and total oblivion. For inspiration, I used the SCA persona of an actual person, and to my eternal amazement the strip was a hit and other people also wanted to be lampooned. Amazing?! My victims provided me with so many hints for things they might be doing in the comics that eventually, I wound up doing four single-panel strips a month to simply keep up with the flow of ideas. The ideas are still flowing – for all that some of the characters have changed.

I like to believe that I’ve made a few upgrades over the years, better capturing the likenesses of the people and of the pop culture characters around me who continue to serve as inspiration. I hope you agree, since I’m going to continue sharing these images.

For anyone interested, I do allow them to be reprinted in other SCA newsletters if the local Chroniclers contact me for permission.

I know very well that it is not my destiny to be mentioned fondly along with da Vinci or Raphael, but I do enjoy the ongoing fun of doing the strips! Below, therefore, are the comics released in June of 2017, and I hope you enjoy them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

