“Seasons”

Leave a comment

June 9, 2017 by phicks2012

Because I decided a while back to post poems in my BLOG on a regular basis, that means my readers are going to be subjected, at least once every couple of weeks, to my poetry. Life is harsh, but there you have it!

Below you will find one of my older efforts – a short verse written over twenty-two years ago shortly after I first started saving my poems on my hard drive rather than risking them to the mediums of paper (which can unfortunately be lost), floppy disks (prone to corruption) or human memory. If I had a terabyte on-board and easily accessible in my brain it might be different, but short of hypnotism that’s not always the best option.

Not that hard drives are always infallible either, of course. I was able to reclaim a few things lost to a hard drive crash, simply because I’d published them in our monthly SCA newsletter “The Equinox”.

In any case, I’ve now learned the value of “BACKUPS”, and the poem below exists now because it didn’t exist in only one place or one format!

 

Seasons

The seasons flow about the world
To touch each warming hearth,
And fields lie filled or fallow with
Their breath upon the Earth.
With Spring the eager seedlings surge,
And life anew is born,
And Summer brings the wheat to gold
And blossoms with the thorn.
In Autumn comes the harvest from
The Earth’s most bounteous breast,
And Winter cools the harried soul,
And gives the spirit rest.

[01 December, 1994]

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

