Miss Peregrine

Leave a comment

December 26, 2016 by phicks2012

miss-peregrineI love to read. I can often be heard lamenting the seeming demise of brick-and-mortar bookstores, because I always loved the physical act of browsing and impulsively finding books I wanted to read.

While there are still bookstores like Books-a-Million doing business (mostly in places too far away from me to be practical — though just yesterday I found one less than an hour away), and books available in some other places (like Walmart and grocery stores) the selection in those latter places tends to be woefully limited unless you only read best sellers or books recently made into movies, and don’t require a lot of fresh reading material very often.

Sometimes though, I’ll spot something that catches my interest. For example, I loved the Harry Potter books and almost bought the new one “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” until I opened a copy and realized that it was actually a screen play. Since I really don’t enjoy reading screen plays, that decided me to wait for the film. That’s one of the benefits to be derived from having a physical book to look at before you buy it. You know what you’re getting.

I read E-Books now too, since I finally have an E-Reader, but I still prefer the printed kind, so maybe I’m just an antique. Still, there’s something about having a book that doesn’t die when its batteries run down.

Anyway, I recently bought copies (DVD Movie and Printed Book) of “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”, because the story looked entertaining and interesting. I like fantasy that’s well-written and skillfully imagined, and in mid-December I kicked back in my lazyboy and decided to watch the movie first. That generally works best for me, because if I start with the book I often find myself all too conscious of what’s been left out or changed.

I liked the movie. It was well-made and acted, with well-integrated and believeable special effects, the DVD had a good price tag, and I enjoyed watching it. It took me a while to place the actor who played Jacob (Asa Butterfield from the science fiction film “Ender’s Game”), but many of the other stars were more easily recognized (Samuel L. Jackson, Judy Dench, Rupert Everett, Allison Jannet, and Terance Stamp to name the more prominent), so it had an excellent cast, too. Good Movie.

Then, the next day, I settled down to read the book. The book and the movie started off very much alike, though the book, even from the onset, seemed slightly less of a children’s book than I’d expected. The book went into a lot more depth about Jacob’s family and background than the movie did, and I liked that. However, I soon realized that the plot of the film had diverged more and more as the story progressed.

For example, several of the characters had been left out or swapped around (like the characters of Olive and Emma) for no really obvious reason, and some characters had been enhanced in the film while others had been more or less written out of the movie. Don’t get me wrong, I liked some of the enhancements, though, and thought they added a lot to the plot.

The endings were almost completely different, too. The movie had an ending that had almost nothing to do with the book. The book, though well-written, did not really end. It just sort of left you hanging — so I suspect that the author intends to write a sequel, but you never know whether or not a proposed movie sequel will ever be made to resolve matters left hanging at the end of the first book or movie. As a result . I have to admit that for me the end of the movie was far more satisfying — and that when I got to the end of the book I thought “Well, Hell!”

Anyway, those are my thoughts on the book and the movie. Now I have to find something else to read and watch, right?

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

