Getting Ready for 2017

Leave a comment

December 2, 2016 by phicks2012

bread_drawing2016 was a better year, overall, than 2015 (which seriously sucked), but not, I’ll hasten to admit, in every way. My finances were a bit better, my rental tenants (with one notably psychotic exception) were better, and we finally were able to get started on some maintenance and restoration projects at The Castle. On the other hand, thanks to slick surfaces. momentum, and general klutziness, I had an impressive run of slip-and-falls, and thanks to slow-healing pulled muscles, oppressive summer heat, and general lethargy — well, actual exercise just didn’t seem to be in the game plan. I couldn’t see affording a health club membership, and the very idea of running or walking around an asphalt track in temperatures edging towards 100° was frightening! While I could have hiked instead around my fence-line in the shade, that would have involved rather a lot of hill-climbing and a serious risk of tick infestation. Hills I can take, but I HATE ticks, and DEET isn’t a total guarantee. I have friends who’ve had Lyme Disease and Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever, so NO THANKS!

 

Housework helps, if you can do it, but when the previously mentioned pulled muscles interfere with doing much of anything that involves bending over, that sort of limits any sort of housework that might actually burn calories, and when you spend most of your time sitting in front of a computer writing, working on newsletters, doing on-line heraldic commentary and research, and (okay, I’ll admit it) on-line gaming, you’re not exactly working out anything except possibly brain muscles.

 

I made an appointment with my Chiropractor, thinking that maybe an adjustment would help with the lower back issues, but he didn’t find any skeletal problems. I adjusted easily. Nope, it was (as I thought) muscular, so I knew I needed to do something to help those heal. Therapeutic massages have helped more, because the damage has been muscular. They are just expensive — and not covered by most insurance.

 

My pre-New Year’s fitness/improvement program has therefore been started, and includes diet changes, diet supplements, semi-regular therapeutic massage, chiropractic adjustments as needed, walking (now that the weather is cooling), and plenty of sleep. I will not be subjecting myself to pre-packaged diet plans, running any marathons, or checking into a spa (I WISH!), but I’m already feeling better. I won’t be turning into a super-model or Olympic athlete, or rocking a bikini, but I’m determined to make improvements BEFORE the time comes for New Year’s Resolutions.

 

Wish me Luck, because I’ll need it!!!

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

