They Ask of Me

Leave a comment

March 21, 2016 by phicks2012

ctree2I didn’t manage to get a love poem posted on Valentine’s Day, so here’s one, written long ago and supposedly lost to a computer crash, that might suffice. It turned up in printed form when I was going through some old SCA newsletters the other day seeking historical information for a friend — which is how I’ve managed to recover a few of those “lost odes” over time. It’s possible that I’ll find more as time passes, and if I do I’ll share those too, but this one was actually written for publication, and that’s what saved it.

I hope you find some value in it.

 
Sonnet No.8: They Ask of Me

They ask of me what led my questing heart
To spend its love on thee, and why mine eyes
Look into thine and see the other part
Of mine own soul in but another guise.
They ask why, to mine ear, thy voice most sweet
Doeth own a music ne’er possessed on earth,
And why when e’er our yearning flesh doeth meet
I sing a paean unto love’s rebirth.
They do not see the tenderness that flows
Between our hearts upon a meeting gaze,
Or feel the bond of unity that grows,
Or hear the soft command that love obeys,
And unto them no answer shall appear.
Love sings no songs that empty hearts can hear.

[14 July, 1992]

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

March 2016
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

