Last Minute Shopping

Leave a comment

December 21, 2015 by phicks2012

Christmas CastleLast Minute Shopping

So, it’s December 21st, and I still haven’t finished my Christmas shopping.

In the olden days I shopped throughout the year to get “just the right” gifts for people, but of course that was back when finances were a bit less rickety and I actually had a clue what those people might want. For years now I’ve really had no CLUE what family members wanted, and more recently still the gifts to and from friends have petered out entirely because NONE of us could really afford to swap presents at Christmas.

I started sending Amazon.com gifts cards to family so thateven if I couldn’t find out or figure out what they needed or wanted my bases would (sort of) be covered. Yeah, I know that this sort of lcaks the “personal touch”, but it has the advantage of allowing them to get something they might actually want and cuts out the “returning gifts” cycle.

Gone are the days of finding those neat, personalized presents, and placing them — all wrapped up in bright Christmas paper with a nice bow — under a Christmas tree to be swapped hand-to-hand with everyone present sipping eggnog and absolutely refusing to touch the fruit cake.

These days gifts are either sent through the mail (at exorbitant rates), or sent in card form via mail, or sent via email or Facebook, or they sit inside the front door waiting to be delivered or picked up at some unknown point in time.

*Sighs* Just not the same, but that’s the way it goes. I’ll get those gift cards sent as soon as I verify that the email addresses I have are still current, and in the meanwhilw wish everyone a Happy Holiday Season!! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

December 2015
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

