Thanksgiving Dinner?

Leave a comment

November 16, 2015 by phicks2012

cooked turkeyWhen I was growing up we always had turkey, dressing, giblet gravy, green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, rice, mashed potatoes, English peas, sweet tea, and pecan pie on the table at Thanksgiving. I always wanted one of the drumsticks, and usually got it because I was really nearly the only person in my family who preferred the dark meat. We had left-overs to last us for DAYS, and that was cool too.

Later on, after my parents split up, I found myself invited to as many as three different Thanksgiving dinners — Mama’s, Daddy’s, and the one hosted by my brother’s in-laws. That meant juggling the schedule and hoping all could be worked in, but it was still good. Different families had different traditions and different side dishes, so it wasn’t always the “exact” same menu.

At one time we had “Orphans Thanksgiving Dinners” with friends whose families lived at a distance or were gone, but then most people got married and/or had kids and started their own traditions, so that no longer worked.

Now, my parents are long gone, and my friends all have dinners to attend with their own families, so when I think about making Thanksgiving dinner I have to consider the fact that roasting a whole turkey means figuring out something to do with the white meat (probably chopping it up and freezing it to use in recipes), and that cooking a lot of side dishes is going to mean either scaling the recipes way down or breaking up everything into portions and freezing them for later use. That can work, i guess, but really….

Even so, though, it just isn’t the same to sit down alone to a table full of food, right? I mean, who do you ask to pass the mashed potatoes?

So, I’m opening up the floor to new ideas for Thanksgiving Dinner — other than going out to Denny’s! Let me hear from you, and Happy Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

