Surprising Gamer Stats?

Leave a comment

June 1, 2015 by phicks2012

twenty-sided-dice-hiPeople tend to think that all, or most, on-line gamers are males in their teens or early twenties, and that often seems to be true. The guy-gamers seem to outnumber the gal-gamers many times over, and have long been thought to make up the vast majority of on-line gamers. Well Guess what!! This isn’t true! It just sometimes FEELS true.

I personally keep getting chatted up by teenage boys — at least they “say” they’re teenage boys — who have no idea of my age and figure that since I play female characters there’s a chance that I might be female, young and nubile. I also have run into more than my share, in-game, of (supposedly) teenage boys who have been arrogant, rude, and annoying enough to make it firmly onto my “blocked” list — though, to be fair, I’ve also run into (supposedly) young (supposedly) female gamers who heat up the chat channels with, and encourage in-kind responses to, non-stop and rather lurid and graphic sex chat that, let me tell you, has not at ALL been a turn-on. While I’m not a prude, I dropped out of one Guild for that reason, and never looked back.

In my experience, male gamers of ALL ages have a greater tendency to want to “power-level”, and then, once they achieve a certain pinnacle, to get bored and change servers or games, while female gamers seem more inclined to take their time leveling, while getting to know other people in-game and hanging around much longer. Maybe that’s just me, but there you have it.

Oddly enough though, I read an article the other day at http://www.vg247.com/2012/08/01/esa-average-gamer-age-is-30-adult-women-more-lucrative-than-teenage-boys/
that surprised me. According to ESA:

One of the most interesting snippets is that the average age of a gamer is 30, but there’s a pretty even split across age groups, with 32% under 18, 31% between 18 and 35, and 37% over 36. The average age of the most frequent games buyer is 35; 52% of these are male and 48% female, a pretty even split.

Speaking of gender, the ESA notes that 47% of gamers are female and 53% male, and said that women aged 18 and over represent 30% of game consumers – quite a lot higher than gaming’s traditional demographic, the under-18 male, at 18%.

So Maybe I’m just on the wrong games, into the wrong Guilds, or just put out virtual VIBES that attract the (again supposely) barely-post-pubescent segment of gamerdom. I’m fairly sure most of my on-line chatter-uppers really ARE teenage boys because of the sheer angst level and the taste in music, but I’ll have to think about that one. In the meanwhile I’ll go back to leveling my 90th level WOW Hunter as a Leatherworker. 😉

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

