Sonnet No.10

Leave a comment

January 23, 2015 by phicks2012

ctree2Occasionally I simply undertake to compose a poem in a particular style, usually intending to publish the verse in my monthly SCA Newsletter (The Equinox) and therefore choosing a period poetic form. I prefer to write structured verse in any case, so this suits me very well, and sometimes — despite the rather dubious reasons for starting the composition process — I wind up with something rather nice.

The Petrarchan Sonnet below was written way back in 1992 when I needed something to enter in an SCA Arts & Sciences competition in the Performing Arts category, and with the intent to include it later in the newsletter. I fail to recall, these many years later, where I placed in the competition, though I could probably go back through my old award scrolls and find that out if I weren’t feeling lazy.  In any case it was performed before it was ever published, and now I present it yet again for critical evaluation.

I hope you find merit in it!

 
Sonnet No. 10

If we await the swift. capricious dart;
The kiss from Eros’ bow sent piercing sweet
To stir the sanguine pulse with mounting heat
And to our spirits rapture swift impart;
To color our desires, by passion’s art,
And by love’s strivings render us complete,
Then shall our souls lie fallow in defeat
If Cupid’s arrow ne’er doeth pierce the heart?
Or is it better that we never love
If loving wounds the fabric of the soul
And rends the heart with talons cold and fell
All hidden ‘neath affection’s velvet glove?
Then shall the memory of love console,
Or pattern from the heart a citadel?

[September 19th, 1992]

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

January 2015
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 302 other followers

