Lovesong

1

October 10, 2014 by phicks2012

ctree2From the reclaimed thought-to-be-lost-to-a computer-crash verses of the 1990s, I offer today yet another formerly MIA poem, written early in that decade when I was more active as an SCA Bard. Initially, I planned to set this one to music, but somehow I never did — though I still might do so if the Muse strikes suddenly at the right time.

The poem is obviously longer than the lead-in, but on this occasion I feel no real compulsion to offer further prologue, and instead invite you to read, and hopefully to enjoy!

 
“Lovesong”

I am a psaltry in the hands of my love, oh my love,
And from my strings his music rises to soar like a dove.
My notes are ardent with his passions, or yet soft as a glove.
I am a psaltry in the hands of my love, oh my love.

I am a song upon the lips of my darling, my dear,
And from his tongue my notes go soaring that others may hear.
My words are gentle with his loving, or yet harsh with his fear.
I am a song upon the lips of my darling, my dear.

I am a flute, all in the hands of my lover, my own,
And with his breath I trill the memory of joys he has known.
My notes have mourned uncounted sorrows, and to Heaven have flown.
I am a flute, all in the hands of my lover, my own.

I am a harp, all in the hands of my love, oh my heart,
My chords are born beneath his fingers, his dreams to impart,
And I am beauty with his laughter, the voice of his art.
I am a harp, all in the hands of my love, oh my heart.

I am a star, all bright with glory in my lover’s sky.
Upon my glow he hangs his wishes, and awaits my reply.
I am the light of his desiring, the gleam in his eye,
And may our loving never falter, til love itself shall die.

[21 September, 1990]

One thought on “Lovesong

  1. woodie says:

    Good for you.keep looking in that box i gave you,maybe you might remember my birthday .

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

