Shire! Shire for July

1

July 4, 2014 by phicks2012

My BLOG followers are WELL aware of the fact that in 2002 when I had a half-page to fill in my monthly SCA Newsletter “The Equinox” I decided to try creating a comic strip for that single, solitary issue, and picked a real person (in SCA persona) to feature, mainly because I’d tried without luck to get some artwork out of HER and felt I therefore owed her a poke or two. To my eternal shock, the strip was a hit and people other than my original target also wanted to be portrayed. They gave boat-loads of great ideas for things they thought they ought to be doing in the comic strips, and I kept creating the things, and after a couple of years I wound up doing four single-panel strips a month just to keep up with the flood of ideas. The suggestions and inspirations, obviously, are still coming – and so, therefore, are the comics.

I’ve made improvements over the years, hopefully better capturing the likenesses of the people who’ve inspired me, the pop culture characters who continue to serve as additional incidental inspiration, and (now) of a few highly entertaining former Shirefolk who have passed on but would love knowing that they are still being included. I hope you agree with that assessment, since I’m going to continue sharing these images.

In earlier BLOG installments, I reprinted small selections of strips from the various years of their publication, but now that I’ve reached the present time, I’m running the comics only once a month, and in their entirety as they are published.

The comics continue to be archived at http://www.covingtoncastle.com/solhaven/sscom.htm for anyone wanting to check them out, and I do allow them to be reprinted in other SCA newsletters if the local Chroniclers let me know and make an attempt to send me a copy of the newsletter in which they appear.

Great art they are not, but I do love creating the strips, and doubtless I’ll go on doing so! Below, therefore, are the comics released in July, and I hope you enjoy them.

shireshire-1407ashireshire-1407bshireshire-1407cshireshire-1407d

One thought on “Shire! Shire for July

  1. I hope you found some good stuff in the boxes I donated to the group.it was almost everything I had from my days as seneschale .I still have some interesting stuff .

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

