Puppies and Kittens and Horsies, Oh My!

1

June 9, 2014 by phicks2012

Question: Why are there so many bad photos of animals on the internet and on social media? I’ve been thinking about it, and wondering whether the issue is primarily bad eye-sight, bad photography, or bad cameras, and whether or not there might be some quirky genetic link to the traits that make someone an animal-lover.

I doubt it, because there are so very many wonderful wildlife photographers out there in the world, posting really gorgeous work — beautifully detailed and composed photographs of animals in vivid and incredible settings. On the other hand, I’m pretty sure those photographers all have a good eye, have a good working knowledge of their equipment, and generally are not using cell phones to capture those images. They also undoubtedly review their work and delete bad shots rather than trotting them out for the world to see.

I can understand posting really cute, funny, extraordinary, or memorable photos of animals. That’s totally understandable, but I suspect there are more than a few “Crazy Cat Ladies” equipped with cameras who have accounts on Facebook. That’s not to say there aren’t a few lurking “Cuckoo Cat Men”, “Dingy Dog Ladies” and “Daffy Dog Men” out there too, and if I could think of an “H” word meaning “wacky” I’d include references to the “Horse People” as well. Unfortunately I’m coming up short! If there are any “Screwy Snake People” or “Looney Lizard People” out there who are feeling left out, I apologize for that too, but I haven’t been seeing photos of those. Sorry.

Admittedly, some of the photographs on social media ARE cute, or funny, or beautifully made, but more than a few are bady composed, out-of-focus, and about as interesting to me as yet another shot of Kim Kardashian. Just as some people will post photos of friends to Facebook no matter HOW horribly made or unflattering they are (and some of me have been just GODAWFUL), some will post photos of pets in which the SPECIES can barely be determined.

But I think I finally have it figured out! You can post bad pictures of pets without fearing retaliation!!

Post a bad photo of a child and they may eventually grow up and seek dire vengeance. Post a bad photo of a friend, and they might feel called upon to retaliate on-line IMMEDIATELY with even MORE bad shots. But animals don’t generally have cameras or Facebook accounts — though, looking at some pictures, I sometimes I have to wonder why the animals aren’t in open revolt — or maybe they ARE.

Possibly “Snookie-Poo” saw his last Facebook photo and chewed his mistress’ cell phone (and most of these photos appear to have been made with bad cell phone cameras) to a pulp, or “Purrrcival” buried it skillfully in the litterbox where it would be rendered mostly inaccessible — and certainly undesireable. Maybe “Poopsie” buried it out in the yard under a dying cluster of Nasturtiums, or “Baby” stashed it in the fork of a tree 20 feet off the ground. I wouldn’t blame them at all, and would have to give them points for creativity.

So, in closing, here’s a photo of my cat Thiam. She wants to use it for her Facebook page. She tried to read my Blog, but quickly showed her disinterest by dozing off. Later, seeing her photo, she attempted to drag my Canon Revel into the dark recesses under the desk, but was only marginally successful. So much for feline revolt!

Thiam3

One thought on “Puppies and Kittens and Horsies, Oh My!

  1. woodie says:

    Bout right ,just left out “just plain dumb “.

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

