“In Still Hear Your Voice”

Leave a comment

April 14, 2014 by phicks2012

ctree2We write poetry for many reasons. We write it to
celebrate victories and pleasures, to remember
joys and pains, to memorialize events, to
express beliefs and to exorcise emotional
demons. Some poems are cheerful, some are
optomistic, some are humorous, some are angry,
some are bombastic, and some are sad. The
following verse was written to express the
sorrows of lost love, and I hope that you enjoy
it.

 
“I Still Hear Your Voice”

I still hear your voice in the whisper of
mountains,
Where winds stroke the laurels and rivers run
free.
When well-springs of memory flower like
fountains,
I dream you will still be returning to me.

My life like a rivulet flows into twilight.
Just thrice have I loved with the whole of my
heart.
The first slew my innocence softly by firelight;
The second slew hope with an arrogant dart.

Then you spoke my name, and the innocence
burgeoned,
And hope stirred again in the depths of my soul.
The third time I loved like a maiden revirgined.
The dream was reborn that my life could be
whole.

But I held back the words, because twice having
spoken
And had them rejected like pearls before swine,
I feared in my marrow the spell might be broken
If of deep devotion I gave certain sign.

It may have been silence that broke us asunder,
And turned you away into arms not my own.
Though never to know, still I always will wonder
If I had but spoken what joys we’d have known.

And through dusty decades amassed since our
parting
My heart has hung frozen like stone in my
breast,
Unable to stir to a love freshly starting;
But cozening pain as a permanent guest.

I’ll not love again, to the day of my dying.
No innocence lingers, and hope is long done.
No magic remains, not for all of the trying,
To bring back the dreams, because you were the
one.

And I still hear your voice in the whisper of
mountains,
Where winds stroke the laurels and rivers run
free.
When well-springs of memory flower like
fountains,
I dream you will still be returning to me.

[04 February 2014]

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 296 other followers

