Shire! Shire for January & February

2

February 4, 2014 by phicks2012

As my Blog Followers surely know by now, back in 2002 when I had a half-page space in my monthly SCA Newsletter “The Equinox” I started up a comic strip that was never expected to outlive that issue — NEVER expected to be seen again. I used a real person (in SCA persona) for inspiration, and to my amazement the strip was a hit and people other than my original victim also wanted to be portrayed. Shocking what people will tolerate and enjoy, isn’t it? They gave me so many wonderfully bizarre ideas for things they might be doing in the comic strips that after a couple of years I wound up doing four single-panel strips a month to simply keep up with the flood of ideas. The ideas, obviously, are still coming – though I’ll admit it’s now from fewer sources.

I’ve made upgrades over the years, hopefully better capturing the likenesses of the people who’ve inspired me and of the pop culture characters who continue to serve as additional incidental inspiration. I hope you agree with that assessment, since I’m going to continue sharing these images.

In earlier BLOG installments, I reprinted small selections of strips from the various years of their publication, but now that I’ve reached the present time, it has become my plan to run the comics only once a month, and in their entirety as they are published.

The comics continue to be archived at http://www.covingtoncastle.com/solhaven/sscom.htm for anyone wanting to check them out, and I do allow them to be reprinted in other SCA newsletters if the local Chroniclers let me know and make an atrempt to send me a copy of the newsletter.

It’s unlikely that Art History professors will ever mention me, but I do enjoy the on-going fun of doing the strips! Below, therefore, are the comics released in January (since I missed last month) and February, and I hope you enjoy them.

shireshire-1401a shireshire-1401b shireshire-1401c shireshire-1401d

shireshire-1402a shireshire-1402b shireshire-1402c shireshire-1402d

2 thoughts on “Shire! Shire for January & February

  1. woodie says:

    You need to start over with your first good ones one at a time.you know ones about the first true saxon seneshale, the one that can’t spel.

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

February 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 302 other followers

