To The Castle – Because It’s Here

Leave a comment

November 29, 2013 by phicks2012

It’s been said before, but I write poetry. I do this when blind-sided by the Muse, or when challenged to create something like the Charter for the Meridian Bards & Performers Guild in Poetic form, or when I think I need something creative to use in my Shire’s monthly newsletter, The Equinox. Because of this, my stockpile of poems continues to grow, and while not all are in my opinion worthy of sharing, other people often seem to disagree with me. Thus, the shared verses just keep on hitting Facebook and my BLOG.

In that vein, here is another offering in the form of a Shakespearean Sonnet, and
I hope it will please some!

 

“The Castle”

Five towers rise on ranks of mortared stone;
Defiant; tall in beauty and defense,
With spired peaks to pierce an azure dome
And guard within the dreams of innocence.
Denying legend and defying fate;
The halls arch clean of spirits rumor made,
And stairways climb, and hearts anticipate
The wonders and the heights that dreams have made.
Upon the hearths are warming blazes set,
And kettles rich with toothsome viands seethe,
For hospitality we’ll not regret
And in the pure of heart we will believe.
From hope and pure imagination grown;
Five towers rising, born of mortared stone.

 

[12 October, 2012]

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 296 other followers

