Shire! Shire for November

Leave a comment

November 22, 2013 by phicks2012

As my Blog Followers know at this point, back in 2002 when I had a half-page space in my monthly SCA Newsletter “The Equinox” I started up a comic strip that was meant to be a one-off — appearing in only one issue and never to be seen again. Inspired by reality and lacking any other real spark of inspiration at the time, I used a real person (in SCA persona), and to my shock the strip was a hit and people other than my original target also wanted to be portrayed and lampooned. Amazing what people will tolerate and enjoy, isn’t it? They gave me so many silly ideas for things they might be doing in the comic strips that after a couple of years I wound up doing four single-panel strips a month to simply keep up with the flood of ideas. The ideas, obviously, are still coming – though I’ll admit it’s from fewer sources and more slowly.

I’ve made upgrades over the years, hopefully better capturing the likenesses of the people who’ve inspired me and of the pop culture characters who continue to serve as additional incidental inspiration. I hope you agree with that assessment, since I’m going to continue sharing these images.

In earlier BLOG installments, I reprinted small selections of strips from the various years of their publication, but now that I’ve reached the present time, it has become my plan to run the comics only once a month, and in their entirety as they are published.

The comics continue to be archived at http://www.covingtoncastle.com/solhaven/sscom.htm for anyone wanting to check them out, and I do allow them to be reprinted in other SCA newsletters if the local Chroniclers contact me for permission.

I know very well that it is not my destiny to be mentioned fondly along with da Vinci or Raphael, but I do enjoy the ongoing fun of doing the strips! Below, therefore, are the comics released in October of 2013, and I hope you enjoy them.

 

shireshire-1311a shireshire-1311b shireshire-1311c shireshire-1311d

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

