Titans

Leave a comment

November 11, 2013 by phicks2012

Those who follow my BLOG know that I like writing poetry — though, to be honest, I never expected my poems to be one of the defining features of that BLOG, nor that they would draw more interest and followers than anything else I wrote or included. I started including them at first simply to entertain and to add variety, and was more than mildly surprised when my verse drew (and continues to draw) more followers with every poem I share.

Thank you to those followers who continue to add to my pleasure at having decided to become a more public poet, and who encourage me to continue writing!

Therefore, below is another in my growing series of poems written to honor friends, and I hope that you will take pleasure in it! Pray also for this friend, currently in the hospital and needing your prayers.

 
“Titans” (for Magy)

In a world that worships titans,
Where the mighty must stand tall
There are souls that touch the heavens
Though their living hands be small.
Born with hearts as deep as oceans
And so much of love to teach,
They have wisdom spanning distances
Exceeding human reach.

Though they may be short of stature
And unable to leap high,
They can warm the world with laughter
That no force can magnify.
They have spirits dwarfing mountains,
And the passions of their souls
Overshadow the illusions
Of what larger hands may hold.

For they have the strength of titans
And their spirits understand
That the ones who love are heroes
With the world at their command.
So we raise a glass to Magy
Of the bright and laughing eyes
For the magnitude of heroes
Cannot be defined by size.

[5 November, 2011]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

