Remember Me

Leave a comment

October 28, 2013 by phicks2012

I do write poetry. I write it because I want to, because I can, because I enjoy the challenge posed by structured verse, and because it’s a way (other than my comics and my prose) to express myself. I’ve been doing it for years — though most of my early work has been lost, and God only knows how many I’ll have saved up by the time I shuffle off this mortal coil. Some of it may even be worth keeping!

But, in any case, it occurred to me that while I was composing paens and eulogies to friends, living and dead, I had never written anything really touching on my own mortality. As a result, I determined to do so, and the verse below is the result of that decision.

I hope that you enjoy it.

 
“Remember Me”

When I am gone I’ll little leave behind;
No child nor grieving lover in my wake
To pine away. The children of my mind
And hand alone will linger here to make
The world recall that I drew worthy breath,
My legacies when I have ceased to be,
And only they will linger at my death
To urge the living to remember me.

The words I have in inspiration penned;
The laughter born of images I’ve drawn;
The castle built, my honor to defend;
They will remain behind when I am gone.
The songs I’ve written and by firelight sung;
The verses penned in praise or eulogy
Will here remain when death’s soft bell is rung
To cause those hearing to remember me.

And if by chance those loved who linger still
Recall me in their hearts when life is past,
And tell fond tales when there are hours to fill
My memory for some small time will last.
And if I leave behind some lasting mark
That does not fade from fleeting memory,
Then I will rest contented in the dark
Assured that someone will remember me.

[26 May 2013]

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

October 2013
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

