Shire! Shire! For June

Leave a comment

July 15, 2013 by phicks2012

Unless you are new to my BLOG, you well know by now that back in 2002 when at a loss for something to fill space in my monthly SCA Newsletter “The Equinox” I created a comic strip that was never expected to continue. For comedic fodder, I used an actual person, and somehow the strip was a hit and other people also wanted to be included. They gave me lots of ideas for things they might be doing in the comics, and the rest (as they say) is history. I wound up eventually doing four single-panel strips a month to keep up with the ideas, and they are still flowing.

I prefer to think that I’ve made improvements over time, managing to better capture the likenesses of the poor hapless people around me who serve as inspiration, and of the pop culture characters I’ve tried to portray just for fun. I hope you agree, since I’m going to continue sharing these images.

In previous BLOG installments, I reprinted small selections of strips from the various years, but now I’ve reached the present time, so it is now my plan to run the comics only once a month as they are published. Those below should have been included in one of my June BLOGs, but better late than never, I guess!

The comics continue to be archived at http://www.covingtoncastle.com/solhaven/sscom.htm for anyone wanting to check them out, and I do allow them to be reprinted in other SCA newsletters if the local Chroniclers contact me for permission.

It is unlikely that I possess the kind of artistic talent that will ever be included in art texts, but I do enjoy the challenges and warped fun of creating the strips! Below, therefore, are the comics released in June of 2013, and I hope you enjoy them.

 

shireshire-1306a shireshire-1306b shireshire-1306c shireshire-1306d

 

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

