Have A Laugh!

Leave a comment

June 21, 2013 by phicks2012

As literally everyone should know by now, back in 2002 when I had space to fill, I created a comic strip for my SCA newsletter “The Equinox”. I expected that single panel to be my last, but to my everlasting amazement it proved to be very popular. I got so many ideas given to me for other strips that I finally had to print multiple comics in each issue of the newsletter just to keep the jokes from losing their punch, especially those relying upon fun being poked at recent foibles.

The strips are still being created and published, and I choose to believe that I’ve made improvements over the past 10+ years, managing to better capture the likenesses of the folk around me who serve as inspiration, and of the pop culture characters I’ve tried to portray just for amusement. I hope you agree.

The comics continue to be archived at http://www.covingtoncastle.com/solhaven/sscom.htm for anyone wanting to check them out, and I do allow them to be reprinted in other SCA newsletters if the local Chroniclers contact me for permission.
I’ve never been silly enough to think that I possess the kind of artistic talent that will be remembered, but I do enjoy the challenges and the fun of creating the strips! Below, therefore, are some selections from the Eleventh Year (2012), and I hope you enjoy them.

Having almost reached the present, once I print a selection from the first half of 2013 in my next Comics BLOG I’ll after that be blogging about the comics only once a month, and posting the current batch! Some may see that as a loss, while others may heave a huge sigh of relief, but that is my plan!

 

shireshire-1201a shireshire-1202c shireshire-1204b shireshire-1205d shireshire-1205b shireshire-1208a shireshire-1212c

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

June 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

