Comedy Tonight!!!

Leave a comment

May 30, 2013 by phicks2012

Okay, so, as I’ve told you before, I created a comic strip for my SCA newsletter “The Equinox” back in 2002, and to my personal amazement (given that I’d never tried to draw any such thing before) it proved to be a great success, even with the actual people humorously portrayed. I got so many ideas handed to me that I had to print multiple strips in each issue of the newsletter just to keep the jokes from ossifying before they could be published. Some jokes simply do not retain their humor after a while, though fortunately others do.

The strips are still being created and published, and I prefer to think that I’ve made improvements over the past decade, managing to better capture the likenesses of the folk around me who serve as inspiration, and of the pop culture characters I’ve tried to portray just for amusement. I hope you agree, since I’m going to continue sharing these images for a while — at least until I reach the present date!

The comics continue to be archived at http://www.covingtoncastle.com/solhaven/sscom.htm for anyone wanting to check them out, and I do allow them to be reprinted in other SCA newsletters if the local Chroniclers contact me for permission.

I’ve never convinced myself that I have the kind of artistic talent that will cause my work to be passed down through the centuries, but I do enjoy the challenges and sheer fun of creating the strips! Below, therefore, are some selections from the Ninth Year (2010), and I hope you enjoy them.

 

shireshire-1001d shireshire-1003c shireshire-1004d shireshire-1005c shireshire-1007c shireshire-1010d shireshire-1011a

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 296 other followers

