Waxing Poetic

2

May 9, 2013 by phicks2012

Okay, I’m not waxing my floors while composing poetry, but that has sort of happened in the past, and while browsing other BLOGS, I’ve discovered that very few other people seem to write structured, rhyming verse anymore, or even blank verse (unrhymed iambic pentameter). Free verse is the norm, and some of it is very, very good, but I love the challenge of creating poetry with meter and rhyme, so that’s what I do!

My friends say I ought to put some of it together into a book, and I may actually do so if I think the demand might be there, but in the meanwhile, here’s yet another verse I hope that some will enjoy!

 
A Dream

A dream came walking in my youth, and passed all others by,
Defining what I would become, and life would signify.
It wandered down along a lane I had not walked before,
And stepped onto a field of green that brilliant flowers wore.

And there three tall pavilions stood, with banners bright to see
And in the dream I knew that I would chose between the three,
And when I did continue on would take one path and tread
The way from one of these to where my destined future led.

Before the first a warrior stood, all belted snowy white,
Around his neck a chain of gold, he called himself a Knight.
“My path is to defend” quoth he, “and when the trumpets blare,
With lifted sword I take the field when no one else would dare.”

Before the second stood a dame in silken finery,
Upon her brow a wreath of gold, beneath a Laurel tree.
“My path is to create” she said “and when the harpists play
With lifted voice I take the stage when no one else well may.”

Before the third there stood a bird, but neither hawk nor crane,
A Pelican she called herself , her breast all crimson stained.
“My path it is to serve” quoth she, “and when the harsh winds blow
With steady hand I take the road where no one else will go.”

And choice I made to take the third, and thus have come to know
That striding down the servers road was destined long ago.
When dreams came walking in my youth, and passed all others by,
Defining what I would become, and life would signify.

[10 May, 2010]

2 thoughts on “Waxing Poetic

  1. woodrow says:

    you know as well as i do that the sca (while it espouses structure in form ) is filled out by chaos and drama(drama queens of all three genders).

    • phicks2012 says:

      Well, we all know that Drama Queens do appear in all genders, and disciplines, and hobbies — and that includes body-building, stock car racing, and scrap-booking. LOL

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

