Poetic Requiem

Leave a comment

March 1, 2013 by phicks2012

Because so many readers seem to be enjoying my poetry, I’ve decided that every third blog I write will contain an original poem. I have plenty, so it should take a while before I run out of those already written, and (of course) I’m still writing more.

I told you earlier that I traditionally write a poem or song in memory of a departed friend. I haven’t included the song yet, but the poem below was written for another friend who died far too soon, and too suddenly. I hope you enjoy it, and I raise a glass (it has to be red wine, you understand) to Samaire!!
To Samaire

Beyond the shoreward swell a ship rides tall
With reaching mast and billowed golden sail,
And from the forecastle rings the captain’s call.
To strike a course abaft of glen and vale.
We cannot hear her laughter on the moors
Nor see the flashing beauty of her eye
Nor feel the warmth of spirit that endures
Nor in our grieving evermore draw nigh.
We watch her come about, and on the wind
Go forth upon the ocean’s heaving breast,
And we are left behind to mourn a friend
Who will not be returning home to rest.
We bid adieu from shores become less sweet,
Until on other strands once more we meet.

[20 June, 2005]

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 296 other followers

