The Ice Man No Longer Cometh

8

November 3, 2012 by phicks2012

Years ago when I actually had some disposable income I was shopping for a table and happened into a little hole-in-the-wall antiques shop where a truckload of stuff from an estate sale had just arrived. Because the owner was willing, I grabbed up a cabinet that was also secretly a secretary, an old-fashioned swivel piano stool, and an ice box, right off of the truck. All were in excellent shape and all came at really good prices. As I recall, I spent less than $200 for all three items, and they were totally worth it!

The other day when I decided to relocate the ice box from its former place next to my bar in the basement, I found out to my dismay that the back legs were not in the greatest shape. I’m not sure whether or not there was ever water involved, but I’m now doing a bit of restoration and have the ice box hoisted lovingly up onto a work bench so that I can work on it.

I need to duplicate one small wooden brace, stain it and attach it to match the piece on the other side in back, and I need to inject some epoxy or something similar into the rotted-out areas at the base of the legs. I think that will take care of it, but then again I’m no expert on furniture restoration, and any advice — other than “pay someone else a butt-load of money to restore it” — would be appreciated.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So please offer your clever suggestions and the benefit of your personal expertise!

Hint: I will NOT “paint it”, “antique it”, or “turn it into a lamp”, and if anyone from “Trading Spaces” shows up and wants to cut it in half to make end tables I will KILL them 😉

8 thoughts on “The Ice Man No Longer Cometh

  1. JSolomon says:

    Can you post a picture of the rotted areas? I had to do something similar to a desk I refinished – part of the leg had broken off and I had to replicate the bottom half of it, but it may not match what yours looks like. I am not trying to push my blog here, but I did blog about it in detail here at http://coffeeundertheumbrella.wordpress.com/2012/10/02/the-tiffany-desk/ . Do you have saws, other tools, etc?

  2. JSolomon says:

    I see 5 pictures – if the box in its entirety is #1, then is #2 the leg you have to replicate? And are the rest the rotted leg? Sorry, I have a lot of trouble in general putting images together in my head.

Leave a Reply

Topics of Interest

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
phicks2012

phicks2012

I am an active, outgoing person interested in all sorts of things and all sorts of people! I'm constantly discovering new interests, and expect that to continue right into the grave!

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 299 other followers

